Spam Allstars sporting their new Fall Fashion Line

city of progress

DJ Le Spam built his studio in North Miami, FL and calls it the City of Progress. This is also home to his label - Spamusica Records. He has recorded each of the Spam Allstars studio albums there, as well as two side projects Rumberos de la 8 and LOS GATOS LECHEROS.

The studio isavailable for other musicians interested in working with DJ Le Spam, or recording with his vintage gear (amps, mics, instruments, plate reverb, etc...). If you've been there, you know what we're talking about.







Recent clients:

The Complainer & The Complainers (Poland)
Elastic Bond
Voices United
Andrew Whiteman / Apostle of Hustle / AroarA
Teo Castellano D-Projects
John Speck y Los Watcheros
Electric Piquete
Jose Conde
Numero Group
Jazzman Records
The Lee Boys
Rakontur/Square Grouper
Yo Mama's Big Fat BootyBand
Monica & David/Ali Condina
Southern Brand Collective
The Resolvers
DJ Induce
Raffa & Rainer
Pee Wee Ellis
Spencer Garn / SG3
Cleaveland Jones
Big Fun 3
Miami Heat
Creative On Demand
Cumbancha Records
John Speck / Bacon Bits
UM World Music Ensemble
Giovanni Luquini Dance Company

More info ....

SPAM ALLSTARS have a couple recording projects underway at City of Progress: the sixth SPAM ALLSTARS album, and LOS GATOS LECHEROS - a funk project with members of Spam Allstars and very special guests!!

DJ Le Spam recently worked with director/actor/playwright Teo Castellano for his new work FAT BOY. Presented as part of Miami Light Project’s 2011 Contemporary Performance Series, FAT BOY coalesces ancient and current art forms to tell a timeless and timely story of greed. Fat Boy explores the theme and abundance of waste through text, movement and thumbing dub beats. The music was composed and recorded at City Of Progress Studios, and features several Miami musicians including Chad Bernstein, Tomas Diaz, Zach Morillo, Hunter HP Parmentier, and Rudy Goblen.

SFL's Fusik have been hanging in the City of Progress this month, working on their next album. This 5 piece band are well known in the Bboy circuit for providing live music they can get down to. This scene has brought them all over the world to perform at their breaking events.

Square Grouper - DJ Le Spam composed and recorded the score for Rakontur's documentary Square Grouper (Magnolia Pictures). Square Grouper premiered at SXSW Film Festival in March 2011. The DVD was released on 4/19, and video-on-demand on 4/21. PREVIEW The film was Directed by Billy Corben and Produced by Alfred Spellman for Rakontur Films (Magnolia). The score is also available now on Itunes and other digital retailers. The score features many Miami based musicians and more including : Mercedes Abal, Lazaro Alfonso, Lee Allen, Chad Bernstein, Brendan Buckley, Roosevelt Collier, Chris DeAngelis, Tomas Diaz, Jose Elias, Mary Frances, Joey Gilmore, Lynn Griffin, AJ Hill, Jacob Jeffries, Cleaveland Jones, Robert Slade Lemont, Albert Menendez, Zach Morillo, Brian Potts, Matthew Sabatella, Jack Stamates, Raiford Starke, Raphael Tarrago, Juan Carlos Valdivia, Ted Zimmerman, Adam Zimmon, and DJ Le Spam.

Pollo Tropical - Spam Allstars recently licensed music for Pollo Tropical's campaign by Southern Brand Collective.

Monica & David: Spam Allstars recently licensed music for Producer/Director Ali Codina's documentary film - Monica & David - which explores the marriage of two adults with Down syndrome. The film was made in association with HBO Documentary Films, and was awarded Best Documentary Feature at the Tribeca Film Festival 2010.

DJ Le Spam had the pleasure of recording Miami's Big Fun 3 at City of Progress. Ropeadope liked what they heard and decided to share it with the masses. Have a listen and be sure to pick up your copy of Big Fun 3, the eponymous first release of Miami’s heaviest psychedelic nu-jazz trio.

Cleveland Jones recorded his album with DJ Le Spam at City of Progress over the last year. Tao Jones was released in early 2011.

SFL's The Resolvers recently recorded at City of Progress." - A new sound, organic and fresh is being cultivated in teh dank, stickey heat of the unrelenting SFL sun....bouncy rhythms shift swiftly and seamlessly in and out of an explosive reggae"

DJ Le Spam did a remix for Apostle of Hustle, Broken Social Scene's Andrew Whitemans side project.

DJ Le Spam mixed Electric Piquete's forthcoming release....named Best Latin Band by Miami New Times, and Band of the Hour by

Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band - From Asheville, NC this based 6 piece band (including Mary & Lee from Eymarel!!) has been on the road since 2002. Their mix of triumphant horns, laid-back grooves, and heavy backbeats is what has carried them back and forth across the nation, from club to club, smiling face to smiling face, day to day, note to note. They now are spending some time in North Miami to record their next album...we’ll keep you posted on the progress!!

SONG FOR HAITI by The City of Progress - We wanted to share with you a song we’ve released to raise money for Haiti. It was recorded by several South Florida based musicians. Everyone donated their time and talent. 100% of the sales (less what Paypal and Itunes charge us to process) will be donated to Project Medishare. Please order your download now and contribute to this cause. Check out the video!

Spamusica Records were proud to present the debut CD from Rumberos de la 8. Rumberos de la 8 is an all-star group of percussionists and singers hailing from Cuba and Puerto Rico, and born on the streets of Miami.  They perform each week with Spam Allstars at their residency in Little Havana, FL at Hoy Como Ayer. This recording features Boris Monterecy, Sonyaisi Feldman, Tomas Diaz, Mercedes Abal, Lazaro Alfonso, Joxi Caballero, Diosvany Boulet, Yoel del Sol, Eduardo Rodriguez, Jose Elias, J.J. Freire, & Ray Romero Jr. This CD was recorded and mixed by Le Spam at City Of Progress Studio in N. Miami, FL between August 2008 - July 2009. Pick up your copy at any Spam Allstars shows, or download a digital copy now. SAVE THE DATE – Thursday February 25th we will have a CD Release Party at Hoy Como Ayer where you can see two sets of Rumberos de la 8 EN VIVO!!

Other recent sessions at the City of Progress: Soulphonics; DJ Induce; Raffa & Rainer; Fitzroy; John Speck / Bacon Bits

Check out the VW campaign featuring David Elsewhere with music by Spam Allstars and special guest Amin from Suenalo.

DJ LE SPAM recorded and co-produced North Carolina's EYMAREL on their sophomore recording Mary + Lee (check it out!!). Some of the Spam Allstars were guest musicians on the record as well.

DJ LE SPAM did a remix for Peruvian NOVALIMA's remix album Coba Coba Remixed on Cumbancha Records.

Spam Allstars developed the theme music for WSFL's morning show in Ft. Lauderdale which airs Mon-Fri from 5am-9am.

Spam Allstars provided the theme music to WLRN's new show - Under the Sun. It airs on WLRN 91.3 FM and WKWM 91.5 FM, South Florida's NPR affiliates. Co-hosted by Alicia Zuckerman and Dan Grech, Under the Sun is a series of radio specials bringing you the perspectives, passions, accents, and sounds of this colorful and complex part of the country.